Edgbaston Priory Club to host National Club Championship Finals

Edgbaston Priory Club, one of the leading Squash and Racketball clubs in the country is to host the 2015 National Club Championship Finals weekend.

The event, which takes place on Saturday 16th – Sunday 17th May will see the top clubs in the country compete for the title with the winners of the Men’s and Women’s event, representing England at the European Club Championships, in Krakow, Poland, in September.

Edgbaston Priory Club has undergone a major redevelopment of its facilities, including four new glass back squash courts with viewing balconies, providing competitors with world class facilities.

In addition to hosting the National Club Finals, Edgbaston Priory Club have also taken on the responsibility of running the National Club Championships.

Tournament Director said “We were delighted to take on this prestigious event and with 41 teams entering in our first year, it shows that this event still has a place in the hearts of squash clubs and players across England.

It is our intention to grow and develop the National Club Championships over the next few years into a real festival of club squash”.
Harris added “We decided just to run the Men, Women and Racketball events in our first year and we hope that next season we will re-introduce the masters and juniors categories plus a non-county player category.”
Clubs taking part in the National Club Championships include:

• Edgbaston Priory Club
• Colets
• Pontefract
• Ongar Squash & Racketball Club
• Leamington Squash Club
• Peterborough
• Nottingham Squash Club
• Bexley
• Lee on Solent
• Broxbourne
• Queens
• Ipswich

Edgbaston Priory Club have an excellent chance in all three events.

The Women’s team led by Nicolette Fernandes, World No.20, Deon Saffrey World No.42 and Leoni Holt World No.90 are favourites to come away with the title.

The Men’s team are also strong contenders with Jamie Haycocks World No.63, Joel Hinds World No.89, George Parker European U19 Champion and Chris Ryder Former World No.33.

The Racketball team have a tough but winnable draw and they include Chris Tasker, Ash Harris, Lee James, Mike Edwards and Anil Ram
Spectators are welcome to come along and watch some fantastic squash.

If you’d like any further details please contact Michael Harris at nationalclubchampionships@gmail.com