The Aegon Classic Birmingham tennis tournament is just over five weeks away and the Lawn Tennis Association (LTA) is excited to announce the strongest player field in the event’s history including:

• TEN of world’s top 20
• THREE Grand Slam champions
• TWO former world No.1 players

Ten of the top 20 players in the world will travel to Edgbaston Priory Club this summer with Simona Halep and defending champion Ana Ivanovic currently ranked inside the world’s top 10.

Also confirmed to play at the Edgbaston Priory Club between 15-21 June are Grand Slam winners Victoria Azarenka and Svetlana Kuznetsova.

They will be joined by the German trio of Andrea Petkovic, Angelique Kerber and Sabine Lisicki as well as rising stars of women’s tennis Madison Keys and Garbine Muguruza.

Spectators at the WTA Premier event will witness many of the world’s best players in the lead up to The Championships, Wimbledon.

Aegon Classic Birmingham Tournament Director, Patrick Hughesman, said: “We are delighted at the strength of the player field and are excited for the action to begin.

“To have Grand Slam winners, former world No.1 players and the defending champion on show will provide a fantastic spectacle for the fans and hopefully inspire people in the area to play tennis.

“With preparations well under way, we are set for a world class week of grass court tennis.”

What do the players think?

Halep said: “I’m really excited about the tournament and I’m looking forward to getting some great support. It means a lot to me to be playing in a tournament which has so many big champions in its history.”

Ivanovic said: “I’m really excited and looking forward to coming back to defend my title. The tournament has a really friendly atmosphere and I can’t wait to experience all of those emotions again and have fun in this great city.”

Azarenka said: “I always love coming to Britain for the grass court tournaments. I have heard great things about Birmingham and the tournament, and I’m really looking forward to playing.”

For more information and to book your tickets click HERE